Join the Society to be the first to hear about new boxes, box reviews and coupons on boxes only available to Subscription Box Society members!

 

Disclosure: This post includes my personal Martha & Marley Spoon Subscription Box Review for which I was not compensated but it may contain affiliate / referral links. Read the full disclosure.
Signup for Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

I don’t always have a lot of time to cook and prepare dinner so I find myself making the same meals over and over because it’s easy. I was really looking forward to shaking things up a bit in the kitchen and not having to deal with finding a new recipe, making a shopping list, going to the store, putting the groceries away and you know how the story goes. It was fantastic when my Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 box showed up and all I had to do was unpack it all.

I’m going to let you in on a little unknown fact about me…I kinda sorta went through a tiny worship stage for Martha Stewart. She makes everything better. I used to l-o-v-e all good things, Martha. I even went so far as to consider getting an internship at one point in my early 20’s. So I was very excited to try the Martha & Marley Spoon meal subscription.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017

I received two recipes for Sage and Cheese Stuffed Chicken and Spiced Steak Tacos and all the ingredients. Ohhh and a lovely note from The Martha & Marley Spoon team! All the ingredients were fresh and in excellent condition.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Martha & Marley Spoon Review August 2017

Recipe #1 Sage and Cheese Stuffed Chicken.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Sage and Cheese Stuffed Chicken – Martha & Marley Spoon

Each recipe comes with a recipe card and they suggest you read through the steps before hand. I AGREE! Very important and really saves getting lost in the middle. Especially if you are not totally comfortable with your skills in the kitchen.

The first step is to prep the veggies. That meant slicing up the tomatoes, shallots, and some of the sage. And the cheese just wants to be in the photo.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

The vegetables (and cheese) – Martha & Marley Spoon

Next step is the chicken prep. I am sort of squeamish about raw meat so  I dread this step. But the chicken breast came trimmed beautifully!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

The Chicken Breasts – Martha & Marley Spoon

Then you butterfly…ick, eew eew eww….glahhh

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

The Chicken Breasts Butterfly Style- Martha & Marley Spoon

Next, you need to pound them with a meat mallet to flatten slightly…but I just couldn’t do it. I’m sorry, I am just not good with the raw meat gig. Atleast I butterflied…cut me some slack! So instead I skipped to the next step –

Add the salt, pepper, and cheese. Now cheese I can do!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

The Chicken Breasts with the cheese – Martha & Marley Spoon

And finally, for the last step that puts the fancaaay all over these chickens, ADD THE SAGE LEAVES!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

The Chicken Breasts with Sage – Martha & Marley Spoon

Hold up there cause we’re not done with our use of one of my favorite herbs, and be sure to enunciate that “H” in Herbs cause Martha likes it that way. The remaining sage needs to be fried up a little crispy in some olive oil.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Let’s fry Sage – Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Getting Crispier – Martha & Marley Spoon

Now that’s CRISPAY!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Crsipay Sage! – Martha & Marley Spoon

Back to the chickens – now that our oil is all flavor infused with the crispay sage we plop our chickens into the oil with the sage side down.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Sage Side Down into the skillet – Martha & Marley Spoon

You flip after about 4 minutes (when they are all crisp’ied brown). I grew a little impatient and so I flipped early. Next time I would have let them brown up a bit more. And, if you notice here – this is where you would have wished you pounded the little guys’ flatter.  But it’s all good.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Flipped Chickens! – Martha & Marley Spoon

And finally, after about 4 more minutes you throw that skillet right from the burner into a hot oven that has been preheated to 425 degrees F. Here they will roast for another 3-5 minutes according to the directions. Although mine was in there for more like 10 – 15 minutes. Probably because I didn’t pound them flatter.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Roastin!!! Martha & Marley Spoon

Those extra 10 minutes or so we’re the pair’fect opportunity for a little me time.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

What?

Once the chicken is roasted to your liking you remove the skillet and place the chicken breasts onto a plate and cover with foil. Using that same HOT skillet (yes that handle is f’ing hot) it’s time to saute up your chopped vegetables. In go the tomatoes and shallots.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Tomatoes & Shallots – Martha & Marley Spoon

Turn off the heat and add the spinach. Toss that all around until the spinach leaves are slightly wilted.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Gorgeous Colors! – Martha & Marley Spoon

Once you feel like you have your consistency right…you plate!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Voila…Sage and Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Recipe #2 Spiced Steak Tacos!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Spiced Steak Tacos

It’s all in there for you except a few staple pantry items.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Spiced Steak Tacos – Martha & Marley Spoon

The first step in this recipe was to create a marinade for the steak out of the spice packet and yogurt and a bit of oil from my pantry.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Marinade Makings! – Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Marinade in the making – Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Marinade in the making – Martha & Marley Spoon

I love finding the steak already shredded into strips requiring me to do nothing but add it to the sauce and marinade to its heart’s desire.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Commence Marination – Martha & Marley Spoon

It’s time to begin the corn salsa. This requires a bit of slicing, but certainly not anything too time-consuming. I, however, am a bit rushed for time so my onion slices are a little larger than they need be. Listen, this is real life, not a show.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Salsa Time – Martha & Marley Spoon

And there’s a sauce we must make too! Are you loving this as much as I do yet? I’m all about the condiments! Little more yogurt, some cilantro, salt & pepper…who knew sauce could be so simple?

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Saucaliscious – Martha & Marley Spoon

Let’s heat up some tortillas, shall we? Alright, so I am struggling a bit with this step…I don’t feel like my tortillas are “charred”, at least not how Martha is hoping for. Not a deal breaker, however, they are still dang food tortllas! And in the end they looked pretty good.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Tortillas Not Charring – Martha & Marley Spoon

Anywhoo, I felt my tortillas had reached acceptable char limits for my liking so onto the corn and onion for zeee tacos!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Why yes I did shuck that cob ‘o’ corn – Martha & Marley Spoon

So simple, place your sliced onions onto a baking sheet and season with a bit of oil, salt & pepper and put your ear of corn right on top, voila…

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Corn and Onions Unite – Martha & Marley Spoon

And into the broiler for 5 minutes or so until the corn is charred in spots.

I’m struggling here because my onions are starting to become translucent, but that pesky corn is not charring at all. And I know I still have to put the steak in with the onions. So eventually I give up and just let the corn come out as perfectly uncharred corn. I’ll be looking into my charr’ing skills – or lack there of.

Anywho at this point, I add my perfectly marinated steak strips to the onions, toss, and into the broiler they go!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Steak Strips – Martha & Marley Spoon

While my steak is in the oven I cut the corn kernels from the cob so that I can assemble my corn salsa. Remember the onions, cilantro, and limes from earlier we mixed up. Yep, they were waiting for these bad boys to join the fiesta.

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

Cut Kernels for the Salsa – Martha & Marley Spoon

Now it was just a matter of putting it all together into a Taco worthy of Tuesdays in the Society!

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

TaaDaaaa! Spiced Steak Tacos Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon August 2017 Review

TaaDaaaa! Spiced Steak Tacos Martha & Marley Spoon

Martha & Marley Spoon Meal Kit Subscription – August 2017 Review

Quite snazzy if I do say so myself!

Both of these recipes were winners in my household. I’d say the chicken received the most praise from the children though. It was packaged nicely, easy to understand, and not time-consuming at all. But really did we expect anything less from Martha? Nevaahhh!

And just so ya’ll don’t think I’m ignoring Marley’s contributions…she’s not a person. Marley is a charming restaurant on an island in Asia.

How to Order Martha & Marley Spoon:

Use this link to signup for the Martha & Marley Spoon Subscription Box

What do you think of this Martha & Marley Spoon?

Join the Society to be the first to hear about new boxes, box reviews and coupons on boxes only available to Subscription Box Society members!

About The Author

mm

Welcome, Subscription Box Society readers, thanks for stopping by. I'm Erin and here's a bit about me, in the 3rd person, naturally. Erin's a wife & mom of 3, a girl and twin boys. She spent most her life in San Francisco Bay Area but now lives in Colorado. She loves the first snow of the season, but not as much as the last one. She loves decorating her home for each season, loves good food, scratch that – ALL food, and reality TV. She despises putting away the laundry, being in the car when her husband is driving, and hearing her own voice. But really the only noteworthy detail here is her fascination with the brilliance behind subscription boxes. Welcome to the Society!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.